Return to Headlines

Hall of Honor - Accepting nominations now thru July 30th

The Caldwell County Schools is now accepting nominations for the 18th Annual Hall of Honor induction ceremony on Monday, October 18, at 6:00 pm at the JE Broyhill Civic Center. The event will recognize both the inductees in 2020 and 2021 due to the postponement of the ceremony in 2020 caused by facility and gathering restrictions during the COVID-19 pandemic.  

Inductees in the Hall of Honor are graduates from Caldwell County Schools who have made significant personal and professional contributions to their community.

The Hall of Honor selection committee, made up of representatives from each high school district in the county, reviews nominations. A nominee must have graduated from Caldwell County Schools or attended Caldwell County Schools prior to graduation from the North Carolina School of Mathematics and Science or the North Carolina School of the Arts. Caldwell County students who exited high school and then completed a post-secondary degree may also be considered.

The Hall of Honor program began in 2003 and since that time, 84 graduates have been inducted in the Hall of Honor, with notables such as Captain James C. Harper, R.L. “Rooster Bush,” Kenneth Roberts, Dr. Caryl Burns, and Captian John Gordon Witherspoon.

Nomination forms are available at the Education Center at 1914 Hickory Blvd, SW, Lenoir, NC, and posted online at To be considered for the 18th Annual Hall of Honor event, nominations must be received by July 30, 2021.